Action Items

- Michele Esch will send to Board members copies of the USDA press releases announcing the decision to relocate ERS and NIFA.
- USDA's Josh Stull will share with Board members his compilation of congressional appropriations for the Department.
- Michele Esch will provide Board members copies of responses by former USDA Chief Scientist Dr. Catherine E. Woteki to a completed NAREEE Advisory Board R&A report on food safety and childhood nutrition and obesity.
- Michele Esch will provide to Board members the documentation each REE agency uses for its R&A review processes.
- Michele Esch will provide Board members with the draft Science Plan so they can provide feedback on the draft.
- Dr. Scott Hutchins will work with the REE leadership team to draft narrative language on the five themes he described to Board members after he has clarity on the "outcome goals" for which he sought Board input. Dr. Hutchins specifically asked for help on the Ag Climate Adaptation goal area.
- Michele Esch will ask NIFA Director Scott Angle for specific questions on which he would like Board advice regarding Extension activities.
- Michele Esch will inquire with Dr. Hutchins and the Office of the Chief Scientist about a crosswalk tying the Under Secretary's overarching program themes to the REE Action Plan and the draft Science Plan.
- Michele Esch will provide Board members with information on what must be done for members to seek reappointment.

Board Business Votes

- 1. The Board members elected the Executive Committee's nine members: David Baltensperger (Chair); Edmund Buckner (Vice Chair); members: Robin Beck, John Coupland, Richard De Los Santos, Sarah Francis, Liz Hobart, Jayson Lusk, Michael Oltrogge.
- 2. The Board unanimously approved drafting a letter about the ERS/NIFA relocation, with key points and language to be reflected in the letter, and unanimously approved the creation of an *ad hoc* group of members to work with Chair Baltensperger and Michele Esch to draft a letter for the Board's consideration the following day. The *ad hoc* group's members were Edmund Buckner, John Coupland, and Jayson Lusk.
- 3. The Board unanimously approved the creation of a working group to develop an action plan for responding to NIFA Director Scott Angle's request for feedback on Extension activities and nominated working group members: Sarah Francis, Roch Gaussoin, Govind Kannan, and Michael Oltrogge.
- 4. The Board unanimously approved a motion to start the annual R&A review focusing on climate adaptation and mitigation.

- 5. The Board unanimously approved a motion to request from REE a crosswalk report showing the links between the REE goals, the draft Science Plan, and Dr. Hutchins' overarching program themes so the Board can review the links and provide input.
- 6. The Board approved, with minor proofreading adjustments, the September 28, 2018, NAREEE Board conference call meeting minutes.
- 7. The Board unanimously approved restructuring the membership of the Specialty Crop Committee, reducing the NAREEE Board representation to three members working with six industry representatives. The three Board representatives are: Richard De Los Santos, Chad Ellis, and Kenrett Jefferson-Moore.
- 8. The Board unanimously approved maintaining the current composition of the Science Advisory Council.
- 9. The Board appointed members of the R&A Committee: James Allen, David Baltensperger, Robin Beck, Roch Gaussoin, Kenrett Jefferson-Moore, and Jayson Lusk. Liz Hobart also joined the committee after the end of the meeting.