An official website of the United States government.

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Membership Categories

The NAREEE Advisory Board is statutorily required to have fifteen appointed members from the following categories:

3 members representing National Farm or Producer Organizations, which may include members:

  1. representing farm cooperatives;
  2. who are a food animal commodity producer recommended by a national livestock organization;
  3. who are a plant commodity producer recommended by a national crop organization; or
  4. who are an aquaculture producer recommended by a national aquaculture organization.

2 members representing Academic or Research Societies, which may include members representing:

  1. national food animal science society;
  2. national crop, soil, agronomy, horticulture, plant pathology, or weed science society;
  3. national food science organization;
  4. national human health association; or
  5. national nutritional science society.

5 members representing Agricultural Research, Extension, and Education, which shall include each of the following:

  1. 1 member representing the 1862 land-grant colleges and universities.
  2. 1 member representing the 1890 land-grant colleges and universities, including Tuskegee University.
  3. 1 member representing the 1994 Equity in Education land-grant institution
  4. 1 member representing non-land grant colleges of agriculture (NLGCA) institutions or Hispanic-serving institutions.
  5. 1 member representing American colleges of veterinary medicine.

5 members representing Industry, Consumer, or Rural Interests, which may include members representing:

  1. transportation of food and agricultural products to domestic and foreign markets;
  2. food retailing and marketing interests;
  3. food and fiber processors;
  4. rural economic development interests;
  5. a national consumer interest group;
  6. a national forestry group;
  7. a national conservation or natural resource group;
  8. a national social science association;
  9. private sector organizations involved in international development; or
  10. a national association of agricultural economists.